To celebrate and promote the profession of architecture, provide opportunities for professional growth, and improve the built environment.

Student Scholarships

2016 AIA Northeast Illinois Student Scholarships
AIA Northeast Illinois is offering two (2) student scholarships in the amount of $3,000.00 each. The scholarships are available to those enrolled for the 2016 fall semester in an accredited architecture program within the National Architectural Accrediting Board’s (NAAB’s) East Central or West Central Regions. (See chart below.) In addition to students currently enrolled in an accredited architecture program, community college transfer students as well as high school seniors are encouraged to apply.

Applicants must be enrolled in an accredited architecture program for the 2016-2017 academic year at one of the National Architectural Accrediting Board’s (NAAB’s) East Central or West Central Region schools. (See the list below.)

Applicants shall be permanent (home) residents of the Chapter’s service area. The boundaries of this area are: DuPage, Kane ,Kendall and Cook Counties, except that the territory shall not include the area within the city limits of Chicago, nor south of Interstate 55, nor east of the Edens Expressway.

Applications for this year’s scholarships are available by clicking on the links below. Application deadline is 5pm (CT), April 22, 2016.

Below are previous Scholarship Winners.

2016 Arnold “Les” Larsen, FAIA, Memorial Scholarship

AIA Northeast Illinois in conjunction with the DuPage Community Foundation is offering a $1,000 scholarship for students enrolled for the 2016 fall semester of the Master’s of Architecture program at either the University of Illinois at Chicago or at Urbana-Champaign.

Past scholarship recipients may apply and are eligible to be selected as a recipient up to two times.

The application form is available by clicking on the link below.  The application along with the required supporting material may be emailed or mailed to the chapter officer.  Applications must be emailed by 5pm (CT), April 22, 2016 or postmarked by that date.


School Eligibility List
NAAB East Central and West Central

Accredited Architecture Schools



Andrews University

Berrien Springs, MI

Ball State University

Muncie, IN

Bowling Green State University

Bowling Green, OH

Drury University

Springfield, MO

Illinois Institute of Technology

Chicago, IL

Iowa State University

Ames, IA

Judson University

Elgin, IL

Kansas State University

Manhattan, KS

Kent State University

Kent, OH

Lawrence Technological University

Southfield, MI

Miami University

Oxford, OH

Ohio State University

Columbus, OH

Oklahoma State University

Stillwater, OK

Prairie View A&M University

Prairie View, TX

Rice University

Houston, TX

South Dakota State University

Brookings, SD

Southern Illinois University Carbondale

Carbondale, IL

Texas A&M University

College Station, TX

Texas Tech University

Lubbock, TX

The School of the Art Institute of Chicago

Chicago, IL

University of Cincinnati

Cincinnati, OH

University of Detroit Mercy

Detroit MI

University of Houston

Houston, TX

University of Illinois at Chicago

Chicago, IL

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Champaign, IL

University of Kansas

Lawrence, KS

University of Kentucky

Lexington, KY

University of Memphis

Memphis, TN

University of Michigan

Ann Arbor, MI

University of Minnesota

Minneapolis, MN

University of Nebraska

Lincoln, NE

University of Notre Dame

Notre Dame, IN

University of Oklahoma

Norman, OK

University of Texas at Arlington

Arlington, TX

University of Texas at Austin

Austin, TX

University of Texas at San Antonio

San Antonio, TX

University of Tennessee-Knoxville

Knoxville, TN

University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Milwaukee, WI

Washington University

St. Louis, MO



Learn more about our sponsors

The information contained on this website is general in nature and should not be considered a substitute for professional advice in specific situations. Advertising of products and services appearing on this website does not constitute endorsement by AIA/NEI.